My first year in London (part 1)

My first year in London has come to an end. Apparently I loved it so much that I decided I would stay at another year, maybe even more.

I’ve learnt so much this past year! I’ve learnt how to use the subway (excuse me Londoners, I mean underground), I’ve learnt how to use google maps like a pro, how to get lost over and over again, how to survive in an expensive city with little money, how to make a raincoat work with my outfit and most of all, how to see London not through a tourist eyes but trough the eyes of someone who calls London their home.

London is so special to me. I’ve known since I was fourteen that one day I would live in London. And seven years later I packed a bag, booked a one way ticket and found my self on an aeroplane to the city of my dreams. I can’t even begin to describe the feeling I had when we were about to land and I could see London from above. What an amazing sight! I instantly knew that this was the right decision and that I would love it here. But I’m not gonna lie, I had a bit of a rocky start. During the first few weeks I found myself in something I can only describe as the honeymoon phase. Work was amazing and I spent my free days reading in cute little coffee shops and visiting many of the museums in London . With music in my ears walking around in beautiful neighbourhoods I was living my dream. But when autumn hit and the cold weather swept across London I started to feel as grey as the sky. The friends I had made during the summer had moved home to their homeland (the downside of only befriending foreigners) and I found myself lost in London, both literally and figuratively speaking. Walking in the neighbourhoods I had loved during the summer didn’t seem as pretty as they once did.

Part 2 coming soon!
/Lovisa

Leave a Reply

